The Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSW) is for individuals with professionally recognized work experience in the following fields:

  • Managerial jobs
  • Professional jobs
  • Supervisory jobs
  • Technical jobs and skilled trades

To apply through this program, you must meet the minimum requirements for:

  • skilled work experience
  • language ability
  • education

If you meet all the minimum requirements, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) will then assess your application based on the following selection factors:

  • age
  • education
  • work experience
  • whether you have a valid job offer
  • English and/or French language skills
  • adaptability (how well you’re likely to settle in Canada)

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) uses the selection factor points grid to assess your eligibility for the Federal Skilled Worker Program.  These factors are part of a 100-point grid used to assess eligibility for the Federal Skilled Worker Program. You earn points for how well you do in each of the 6 factors.  The current pass mark is 67 points.

Once you are eligible, you’re then qualified to enter the Express Entry pool, this is IRCC’s ranking system.  IRCC will select the highest-ranking candidates from the pool and invite them to apply for permanent residence.

To find out if you qualify under this program, please complete our evaluation form.  Our Express Entry team will contact you shortly to give you a free assessment.